All of Things

This is going to be a blog post like no other I’ve ever done. Some will like it, some may not.

I’ve done a lot of thinking on this post over the past few weeks, so hold on to your seats.  No, this isn’t a political rant, far from it, so just stay with me here.  Again, this won’t reach everyone.

I am a Christian (the story of how I came to that is for another time).  I believe in the Word of God.  I believe Jesus was born of the virgin Mary, as the Son of God, lived a sinless life, and bore the brunt of all the world’s sins by dying on the cross and rose three days later to sit at the right hand of God in Heaven, so that all of our sins would be forgiven.

Why am I this way and why do I believe this?  Three reasons:

  • Faith
  • Evidence
  • Science (yes, science)

Faith

“For all have sinned, and fall short of the glory of God”.  Romans 3:23.  I am certainly no exception.  I don’t deserve salvation, but Ephesian 2:8-9 says “8. For by grace you have been saved, through faith, and not of yourselves, it is a gift of God. 9. Not of works, lest any man boast”.  I actually have that tattooed on my back in a Celtic cross design, along with a verse from Psalm 25.  No matter how much good I try to do, no matter how many old ladies I help cross the street, that doesn’t help me.  It is my faith that my sins (and they are many) are forgiven, through my faith in Jesus Christ.

Evidence

There is so much evidence to convince me that Jesus was a real person.  That a lot of the Old Testament actually happened.  I am not one of those who believe that the world is only 6,000 years old, and that man walked with dinosaurs, and fossils were created by God.  The way I interpret Genesis is that Adam and Eve weren’t necessarily the first humans, but the first humans documented.  Did they actually exist?  Without Adam and Eve, there would be no original sin, so my faith tells me yes.  Was Noah real?  I don’t know.  My faith tells me yes, but I can’t prove it.  That’s where the faith comes in.  But the Apostle Paul was a real person.  Luke was a real person.  Peter, Thomas, Stephan, James, John.  They all existed.  There is written documentation.  Now, Luke never met Jesus, but he and Paul traveled extensively together, and Paul did meet the Risen Jesus when he was looking to persecute the believers on his way to Damascus before his conversion.  Luke took a lot of notes from a lot of sources and wrote to King Theophilus on his findings, in his gospel and in the book of Acts.  I encourage everyone to read “The Case for Christ” by Lee Strobel.  Mr. Strobel was an atheist who started investigating why so many people believed in God.  He ended up being converted (and is now an ordained minister) because of all the evidence he uncovered through countless interviews with both clergy and lay people.

Science

The Big Bang.  13.8 billion years ago the entire universe, the billions of galaxies, the trillions of stars and planets, all started from a dot infinitely small and infinitely dense.  Then “Blam”.  For reals?  Well, yes.  I believe it happened.  But what caused the Big Bang?  What was before the Big Bang?  Not even the most brilliant physicists know.  But, after the Big Bang, anything could have happened.  But a bunch of things happened picoseconds afterword that had they not, none of the universe would have happened.  Certain forces, particles, gluons, muons, quarks, all came together to start creating the elementary particles. Then atoms, and gravity, and then cosmic dust that started forming into stars and galaxies and super novae created heavier elements and things evolved (yes, I used the evolution card) that created everything else we know of today.  Some scientists have said the chance that things turned out the way they did is 1 in 10 to the 123rd power. Why did things happen as they did?  Again, faith tells me God set it all in motion. Something had to have triggered the Big Bang.  Why not God?

I don’t expect everyone to follow along with this.  But this is what I believe.  And I can reconcile my belief in God and Jesus with what physicists believe how the universe started and how we’re all here.  It’s called Faith.  Keep the Faith.

 

 

 

About Gill Rowley

I live in Madison suburb, working as a Senior Consultant for Talavant. I like hunting, fishing, working out, my boat, playing with my rescued bull terrier Lola, and gourmet cooking. Oh, yeah, and I play men's fastpitch softball.
This entry was posted in General Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

