Ch-ch-ch-changes

Okay, enough David Bowie.

I am going through what could possibly be the most excruciating time of my life.  There are so many emotions flying around it’s hard to keep everything straight.

There are things I can’t yet reveal.

There are things I can reveal.

After almost three great, great years, I am leaving Solve.  I have been so blessed to work with such tremendous people.  Nancy, David, Mike, Larry, Jordan, Jay, and most recently Tom and Jason.  Not to mention the people at my client for the past three years – Wes, Chris, and Patrick.  It’s been a fantastic ride, and what we’re currently setting up for the client will be extremely awesome.

Why would I leave?  Well, I’ve been given an opportunity to get in on the ground floor with a brand new company called Talavant headed up  by Dave DuVarney and Rob Long.  It’s a new consulting company based in Madison, WI; a little closer to home than my current client in Arkansas.  This is in no means a slight on the client I’m finishing up with – I loved working for them, I love visiting Siloam Springs, Arkansas.  It’s a great place.  I recommend everyone visit there at least once.  I intend to go back in the future, to visit my friends.

Dave DuVarney approached me about a month or so ago asking to meet up for coffee.  We had the obligatory chat, talking about life, families, and whatnot.  It was then I asked “OK, you didn’t ask me here for coffee…”.

I had met Dave several years ago when I was the DBA with National Guardian Life.  He had co-authored a book on SQL Server Reporting Services and we were looking to migrate from Business Objects without having to put all of the agents in Active Directory.  Nothing came from that meeting, but we’ve kept in contact ever since – bumping into each other at MADPASS meetings, etc.

Dave and Rob had started a new consulting company in Madison earlier in the year and needed to expand.  They had too many clients for their personnel.  I met Rob a couple weeks later and we continued to talk.  It was after that Dave asked me if I’d like to work for them.  I said yes.

There were a number of factors in my decision.  It’s local.  Yes, it’s about 50% travel, but I’d be able to be in a local office.  Currently my nearest office is 65 miles away, and it’s full, so I really don’t have a work station there.  This isn’t a knock on Solve, in fact, it just means they are growing so fast that they need more space!  That’s a good thing!

It’s not the money.  It’s more or less a lateral move.  But, I’m one of the first people on board, and I hope to ride that to a more senior role as the company expands.  That means I need to stay focused, do the best I can, continue learning, and well, yeah – just do the best I can.

Burn out.  I know my Solve colleagues may not like this so much, but I never expected to be on one project for three years.  I’ve been told by my co-workers that I’ve done things with SQL Server that make their heads spin (can’t wait for the knowledge transfer sessions 🙂 ).  I take that as the highest compliment.  But  I expected that as a consultant I’d hop from project to project every few months or so.  Again, this is not a knock on Solve, because they have been so good to me during my time here.  I do not have one single bad thing to say about them.

So, early next year, I’ll leave one great company for what I hope will be another.  The decision was not without a lot of thought and prayer.  I told David when I was interviewed three years ago I was looking for a company I could retire from.  I sincerely thought Solve was that company – and it probably could be.  But, there’s still a little flame left in me, and with that light I want to see where this next path leads me (holy cow, I sound like Bilbo).

David.  Larry.  Nancy.  Michael. And everyone else there.  I love all of you.  I will not stay out of touch.  And I will see all of you again – sometime.

Onward.

 

About Gill Rowley

I live in Madison suburb, working as a Senior Consultant for Talavant. I like hunting, fishing, working out, my boat, playing with my rescued bull terrier Lola, and gourmet cooking. Oh, yeah, and I play men's fastpitch softball.
This entry was posted in General Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. Hey! Congratulations Gill!
    Change is good. And I have no doubt that getting in with a new company in technology is a good move. I give you kudos for making the decision yourself instead of waiting for a company to make it for you. I wish you the best in your jorney!

  2. Thomas Lane says:

    It has been a real pleasure working with you. Your knowledge is deep and your skills are great. Good Luck!

    • gillrowley says:

      Thanks Tom – we’ll definitely keep in touch. I don’t forget my friends. Whenever my ex-wife left a job, she severed all contact with them. I don’t get that. Plus, in our SQL community, it’s nice to pick a bunch of people’s brains, because we’re all willing to share what we know.

  3. Pingback: Career Change | Gill Rowley

Leave a Reply

