That Time of Year

sqlsat287_web  It’s that time of year again.  What time is that, may you ask?  SQL Saturday season, that’s what time of year it is.  MadPASS, FoxPASS and a  bunch of other volunteers are putting the finishing touches on Wisconsin’s only SQL Saturday, to be held this upcoming Saturday, March 29, 2014, in Madison, WI.  This is our third time hosting a SQL Saturday, and we’ve grown greatly since the first one in 2012.  We are at capacity with 350 registrants, and a waiting list of more than 30.  This is also the first year we have pre-cons!  Jes Borland  and Ted Kruger are hosting a pre-con about tuning your SQL Servers to perform better, David Klee is giving his talk on SQL Server virtualization best practices, and Dan English is hosting one on Self Service BI.

Me?  I’ll be presenting “You’re the DBA.  NOW What?” again.  A 100 level checklist of what to look for when you’re suddenly thrust into the role of Database Administrator.  We’ll cover files, configuration, disaster recovery, indexes, encryption, and a whole lot more.   The first time I ever presented this, or anything, for that matter, to a group larger than a user group meeting was last year’s Madison’s SQL Saturday (you can read about that, if you want, here).  Since then I’ve given it to many other SQL Saturdays.  It remains well received, I think, because I try to keep it simple for those who are just starting out.

I’m looking forward to this one, as I do all of them.  It is great to meet up with people I see far too seldom.  It’s a great day of free learning from the experts.  These speakers spend their own money, time, and talent to help make us all better at what we do.

Quoting Flounder from Animal House  – “This is going to be great!!”

See you this Saturday.

 

 

About Gill Rowley

I live in Madison suburb, working as a Senior Consultant for Talavant. I like hunting, fishing, working out, my boat, playing with my rescued bull terrier Lola, and gourmet cooking. Oh, yeah, and I play men's fastpitch softball.
This entry was posted in SQL Server. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

