SQL Saturdays

As I sit this evening, sipping a Spotted Cow, watching the Twitter stream of all my friends at the PASS Summit, I wish I was with them. The PASS Summit is always a great time, I’ve been to the last four, but it was not in the cards for me this year.  Even if it was, my workload right now is such that I’d probably be doing more work than attending any of the sessions.

I had submitted a session for the conference in hopes of speaking there for the first time, but it was not selected. The reason? I don’t have enough speaking experience. Fair enough. I’m relatively new to the whole speaking thing, and when I had submitted my abstract I had only spoken at one SQL Saturday and a couple local user group meetings.

With that being the case, I made the decision to submit my session “You’re the DBA, Now What?” to a lot of the local SQL Saturday events in the Midwest.  I’ve been lucky enough to have been selected to a few of them.   Madison, St. Louis, Minneapolis, and Kalamazoo so far.  I think I’ve submitted to a couple others, but I forget, and I haven’t heard from anyone else that I’ve been turned down or selected. 

I was a first time speaker at the Madison SQL Saturday – I blogged about that one before.  This past summer I drove to St. Louis and gave the presentation to another large crowd.  Minneapolis was this past weekend, and I got a lot of questions, which was good.  It helped fill the entire one hour and fifteen minute time slot.  Kalamazoo will be in November, and I am looking forward to seeing some good friends there. 

After this round is over, I will probably shelve this presentation for a while.  I’ve got the next one in mind, I just have to start on it.  I’m thinking the title will be “You’ve been the DBA for awhile, Now What?”  My first presentation was a 100 level course, mostly for beginners and newbies, and this next one will be geared more towards the mid-level DBA.  This should be fun to put together.

 

About Gill Rowley

I live in Madison suburb, working as a Senior Consultant for Talavant. I like hunting, fishing, working out, my boat, playing with my rescued bull terrier Lola, and gourmet cooking. Oh, yeah, and I play men's fastpitch softball.
This entry was posted in SQL Server. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

