T-SQL Tuesday – A Day in the Life

ImageThis month’s T-SQL Tuesday is being hosted by none other than Erin Stellato (blog | twitter)..  Her task to us was to chronicle one day out of our lives.  Since this request came in the middle of last week, I decided to write about my day last Wednesday, July 11th.  So:

I woke up, got out of bed.  Dragged a comb across my head.  I made my way downstairs and drank a cup, and looking up, I noticed I was late.

Sorry, couldn’t resist. 🙂

Seriously though, I got to work at around 7:15, which is normal.  I went and got a cup of coffee and started my day.  I began by looking through my emails.  I usually get about 30 or so overnight, most of them are junk, but some are SQL newsletters from various sources.  I scan through those every day to see if something catches my eye. 

Next I took a look at the Job Activity Monitor on our various SQL Servers.  I have alerts set up to let me know if anything goes wrong, but I still check every day, just in case.  As usual, I found nothing unusual.  At 8:30 the whole development group (of which I am a part) met to discuss projects.  This is a daily meeting where we talk about what we did yesterday and what we’re doing today.  I think it’s overkill, but we meet nevertheless.

After the morning meeting I finished up a small SSIS package.  It was now 9:30, and I went to get another coffee.  And that’s it.  I’m done for the day.

No, I didn’t go home, but that was it for me.  I really have nothing to do at work.  Backups run fine.  I practice a restore once in a while.  Maintenance plans – check.  Database and Log sizes – check.  Queries optimized – check. 

I was hoping to be planning for a SQL Server upgrade involving a clustered environment, but the chiefs have abandoned that project as unnecessary.  So, for the rest of the day (and most days now), I read.  I studied for the 70-432, I read some blogs, followed my twitter feed, and got caught up on news.  Just like every other day.  I have nothing to do.  No development, no BI, no major admin problems to speak of.

So, in the very near future I will have another blog post about some changes that will take place.  Stay tuned.

Oh – to wrap up my Wednesday I went out to the ballpark that evening to watch my men’s fastpitch team play.  Many of you know I am out for the season due to some major shoulder surgery 6 weeks ago, so I am reduced to being a spectator this summer.  I can still cheer the team on as I enjoy one of Wisconsin’s finest malt beverages (Spotted Cow on tap, Jes).  Our pitcher, who is easily one of the top five pitchers in the state, went up against a pitcher who is probably in the top 10 in the country (and I was lucky enough to get a good solid double off of him a couple years ago).  We ended up winning the game 1-0 with our pitcher throwing a no-hitter. The other guy gave up three hits, one of which was a triple with a man on first.  This was just enough to win.  Those are exciting games to watch.

Thanks again to Erin for hosting.  And as for me, stay tuned…

 

 

About Gill Rowley

I live in Madison suburb, working as a Senior Consultant for Talavant. I like hunting, fishing, working out, my boat, playing with my rescued bull terrier Lola, and gourmet cooking. Oh, yeah, and I play men's fastpitch softball.
This entry was posted in Fast Pitch Softball, SQL Server. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to T-SQL Tuesday – A Day in the Life

  1. Pingback: T-SQL Tuesday #32 Round Up | Erin Stellato | Erin Stellato

Leave a Reply

