SQL Saturday #67 Awesomesauce

This past Saturday (March 26th) I gassed up my Avalanche and headed down to the northwest suburbs of Chicago to attend SQL Saturday #67. I was eagerly anticipating the event, partly because my time at SQL Saturday #60 in Cleveland was cut short by a bout of food poisoning. Little did I realize how much my expectations were to be exceeded.

My first session was Performance Tuning Made Easy headed up by Thomas LaRock (blog | twitter). What an amazing session. Learning a methodical 6 Sigma process for identifying problems, finding and testing solutions, and doing it all over again in order to continually improve performance. All sessions are great, but I can’t use the information in a lot of them because we don’t do things “that way” where I work. This was one session that I can actually take the knowledge and start implementing it. Thanks Tom!

My second session of the day was Dave Levy’s (blog | twitter) session on “What to do When it All Goes Wrong”. A disaster recovery process that involved multple teams. I can definitely see a use for this where I work, and it was good information to know. I just hope I don’t ever have to use it.

After lunch I sat in on Norm Kelm’s (twitter) SSIS Script Task session. Since I do quite a bit of SSIS scripting, I wanted to see if there were any tips and tricks that I could come away with. Norm did not disappoint, as I learned more about scoping variables within a SSIS package and inside the Script task itself.

Jes Borland’s (blog |twitter) class “Make Your Voice Heard” was next. Crayons and construction paper. What more can I say! A good light hearted discussion on how to network through cyberspace. Most of the room was filled with Facebook and Twitter friends, people whom I talk to fairly regularly, but get to meet in person far too seldom.

Finally, I ended the day with Tim Ford’s (blog | twitter) session on Dynamic Managed Objects. By then my brain was full, but it was interesting to learn more about these system views and functions to help see what is going on inside your SQL Server. Aaron Bertrand (blog |twitter) lended his valuable assistance from time to time.

Dinner at La Magdelena was awesome. Even more awesome because it was free.

After dinner a bunch (Tim Ford, Jes, Hope Foley, and Christina Leo) jumped in my Avalanche for a quick run for supplies before SQLKaraoke. As far as SQLKaraoke goes – what happens at the Hampton, stays at the Hampton. I turned in relatively early, since I had been up since 5:00 am and had been in a mental whirlwind ever since I arrived at DeVry. I wanted to stay up and continue to partake in the festivities, but I had run out of gas.

A huge thanks to all who organized the event, to DeVry for hosting the event, and to all my friends, old and new, with whom I got to hang out, learn, and have a ton of fun. I look forward to next year’s event already. See you all in Seattle!

About Gill Rowley

I live in Madison suburb, working as a Senior Consultant for Talavant. I like hunting, fishing, working out, my boat, playing with my rescued bull terrier Lola, and gourmet cooking. Oh, yeah, and I play men's fastpitch softball.
This entry was posted in SQL Server. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SQL Saturday #67 Awesomesauce

  1. Norman Kelm says:

    Thanks for attending my session, Gill. I’m glad you learned something. I woke up Sunday morning realizing why my ftp load wasn’t detecting the changed files. I was changing the files in destination directory, not the ftp directory. DUH! I was not at my best that day. Hope to see you again soon.

    Norman

  2. Pingback: @sqlsatchi event #sqlsat67 | sqlmashup

Leave a Reply

