Lemon Pepper Pork Roast

OK, here’s my first food blog. If you look at my tag line, you’ll notice it says “From SQL Server to fast pitch softball and everything in between.” Or something like that.

I like to cook. I came about it because I decided that I could no longer eat my wife’s cooking. It was terrible. So, I took over the reigns in the kitchen, and found out that a) I liked doing it, and b) I’m pretty good at it. Most of the time I’ll follow a famous chef’s recipe, making minor adjustments as I like, but occasionally I’ll come up with something on my own that’s pretty good. Tonight was a perfect example of that, so I thought I’d share.

2 lb pork roast
2 cloves of garlic, pressed or minced.
8 – 10 twigs of fresh thyme
salt and pepper
olive oil
lemon juice
balsamic vinegar

Preheat the oven to 350.

Heat a couple tablespoons of olive oil in a hot pan. Season the pork roast with salt and pepper. When oil is hot, add the pork roast and sear for a couple minutes on all sides. Cut slits in the top of the pork roast while it is searing. In the last minute, pour about 3 tablespoons of lemon juice on the roast, opening the slits so that the lemon juice goes into the pork roast. Spread the garlic over the top of the roast and sprinkle the thyme leaves on top (I strip the leaves from the twigs). Remove pan from heat, pour 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar over the roast, and finish cooking in the oven. When the roast is done, remove from the oven and let it rest for about 10 minutes before slicing.

Lemon Glazed Baby Carrots

Heat a tablespoon of olive oil in a pan. Add a cup of baby carrots, sauteeing for about 5 – 6 minutes. Add a clove of minced garlic, 1 tablespoon of butter, and about a tablespoon of lemon juice. Saute until carrrots are starting to become tender.

That’s it. I didn’t cook a starch because I had none in the house. But when this was all done, I had a very tasty dinner.

My daughter wants scallops for Christmas, so we’ll see what I can come up with for that.

About Gill Rowley

I live in Madison suburb, working as a Senior Consultant for Talavant. I like hunting, fishing, working out, my boat, playing with my rescued bull terrier Lola, and gourmet cooking. Oh, yeah, and I play men's fastpitch softball.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

