PASS Summit Reflections

A little late in coming, since I’ve been home since Friday, but this is the first opportunity I’ve had to really sit down and do nothing but think and type.

This years Pass Summit was everything I hoped for, and more. The sessions, the people, the speakers, the after-hours gatherings, all left me wondering what most people are thinking – why can’t the PASS Summit be longer?

I went to Seattle with two goals – to educate myself more on data warehousing, since our company wants to start one up next year, and second, to network and meet more people. Not the most outgoing guy, I figured the second goal would be a bit harder to accomplish. Boy, was I wrong.

It all started out with a simple tweet before the conference – anyone from Wisconsin going to PASS? Out of the woodwork come a flurry of tweets, some going, some not, but potential contacts all. Over the course of the week I got to meet some great people, some from Wisconsin, and others from all over the place. Ted Krueger (Twitter|Blog), Jason Strate (Twitter|Blog), Tim Benninghoff (Twitter), Chris Switalksi (Twitter), Wendy Pastrick (Twitter|Blog), Grant Fritchey (Twitter|Blog), Christina Leo (Twitter) Jorge Segarra (Twitter|Blog) and others – it was great meeting you all and getting to know you. Others like Jes Borland (Twitter|Blog) kept up to date with their tweets.

Monday started out with an all day pre-con session on Powershell. I had tried learning this on my own in my spare time, until I found out I had no spare time. Thanks to Allen White (@sqlrunr) for a very informative session.

Aside from the Tina Turner impersonator, the Keynotes were awesome. Can’t wait the five years it will take for my company to move to SQL Server Denali (we’re a little slow in getting current technology at times). The sessions were great. I learned a lot about Data warehouses, knowledge that I know I’ll be able to transfer to our company when we implement our own warehouse. I also attended Grant Fritchey’s session on execution plans and Jen McCown’s class on T-SQL. Both were great. And for all the classes I missed that I wanted to attend, well, I bought the DVD, of course.

The Tap House, GameWorks, SQL Karaoke at Bush Garden, all great times. In short, I can’t wait until next year. I know I’ll be asking my company for another $995 at the beginning of 2011 so I can again take advantage of the early bird registration.

About Gill Rowley

I live in Madison suburb, working as a Senior Consultant for Talavant. I like hunting, fishing, working out, my boat, playing with my rescued bull terrier Lola, and gourmet cooking. Oh, yeah, and I play men's fastpitch softball.
This entry was posted in SQL Server. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

