T-SQL Tuesday

A couple weeks ago I posted a blog about 2010 accomplishments and 2011 goals. I suppose some could say that goals are the same as resolutions. But then again, goals can be measured by whether or not they are achieved, but resolutions can be subjective. “I resolve to study more”. “I resolve to learn Powershell”. When it’s all said and done, were those accomplished? To what degree? Are your resolutions measurable?

I’m trying to figure out what my “techie” resolutions are. My job is in great flux right now. Sure, I’m the DBA in our company, and as many of you know from my tweets, I’m involved in a pretty big web project, coding some Java along with designing the database and writing all the code to pass that data to the web pages. The main Java developer has left the company, leaving me the only developer on the project. We just hired a replacement, but it’s going to take me a lot of time to get him up to speed. I sure hope he knows more Java than I do.

So: Resolutions. I resolve to comment my code better. I have stored procedures that only I know how they work, and if I get hit by a bus no one is going to know what the heck they do. I resolve to create a database maintenance plan immediately upon implementing a new database, not the next day or the next week. I resolve to be extremely diligent with the rest of the technical services department when they want to install a new application. I will make sure that if the application needs a database, I won’t let them install SQL Server Express on the same box as the application.

Basically, I resolve to do my job better. By blogging, reading other peoples blogs, gaining a certification, attending PASS and User Group meetings, and staying focused on the fact that SQL Server IS my job, I think I can accomplish my goal of being a better DBA.

Oh, and a final thought. I resolve to clean the cat box more often. Holy cow. I didn’t think my sweet little Abby could stink this bad. Off to go take care of that.

I write this on the evening that my father passed away. Many of you have expressed your condolonces, and that is most appreciated. Focusing on work makes my loss easier to deal with. And, with such a large and great group of people to be associated with, you all make my job easier by your blogs, your posts, your tweets, and your humor. Thank you all.

-Gill Rowley
@BadgerBully

About gillrowley

I live in Madison, working as a SQL Server DBA and Business Intelligence Consultant for Solve (formerly Resource Management Professionals, LLC). I like hunting, fishing, working out, my boat, playing with my rescued bull terrier Lola, and gourmet cooking. Oh, yeah, and I play men's fastpitch softball.
This entry was posted in SQL Server. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to T-SQL Tuesday

  1. Pingback: SQL Awesomesauce » Blog Archive » T-SQL Tuesday #014 Roundup

Leave a Reply

